Player Profile: Asphodel

Asphodel by Tyler Anderson (National Post)

“In under a year, Asphodel’s been transformed into an infected abomination, left religion in favor of dragons, found an alchemy master, gained a home within a camp in Jericho, found employment with the town’s archaeologist, advanced to the second in command of the alchemists guild, braved spider caves and defeated countless creatures.”

Lorne B has been playing Underworld LARP for almost a year, he has spent the last 11 months playing a Dark Elf alchemist named Asphodel. I asked Lorne some questions about his experience playing at Underworld LARP, and what it’s like to live in the fantasy world of Jericho as his Player Character (“PC”) – here’s what he had to say!

How did you find out about Underworld?

My girlfriend first wanted to LARP after seeing it on Fanboy Confessional… So I go to my first event and have a total blast, and then go home and tell my girlfriend about it. And she says shes not interested anymore and she thinks it’s silly. But through a combination of the great people and all the action, I’m already hooked by this point. So she’s sort of responsible for my UW addiction now.

What is the inspiration for your character?

Asphodel is a Dark Elf, and is formally (according to the rule book) an assassin. But I chose that model mostly for the [cheaper] alchemy costs… I liked the idea of a stealthy poison-master. Since I have a job that allows me to sell things people like or need, going with the alchemist build is sort of like combining assassin with salesman. I love the idea of alchemy, the combination of science and magic into a potion or gas globe.

Most people say that your first character is pretty similar to yourself. I think Asphodel, my current character, has a small amount of me in him, but with certain aspects about my personality enhanced or improved. Asphodel is more confident, intelligent and well spoken than I am. He also has ambition, which is something I find difficult to muster some days. He’s trying to master alchemy by age 30 just to say he can. A lofty goal, but there’s something inside the idea of being a prodigy in this world that really makes me smile. My experience with Asphodel has been an exceedingly positive one.

What is your favorite aspect of Underworld LARP’s medieval-fantasy universe?

My favorite part of the UW fantasy world is its depth… There are religions, belief systems, cultures and lands with so many different flavors, similar and parallel to our own but also so different (considering the lower end of technology as well as the inclusion of magic and monsters.)

Asphodel prepares to fight a monster in the woods

I love the feeling of escapism when you go to the game for the weekend. Its a way of removing yourself from the entire equation of life. Work, school, money, stress. Its a form of freedom that I honestly think everyone should try out at least once.

What do you like most about the Underworld rules system?

My favorite part of the game mechanics is probably that the classes and character point categorization creates so much variety. People don’t have to be bound to one idea of a warrior, a rogue, or a caster – they can make a Healing Templar who doesn’t fight, or an Alchemist, or so many other variations on the character classes available in the rules.

Asphodel slays a spider - photo by Pat and Sierra

Leave a Reply

