Be wary Traveler!

Be wary Traveler!

Dear Cousins and anyone who travel the winding paths of Maud’madir. I, Josepi Traduceri, bard extraordinaire, merchant of many small wares, and weary traveler, bring ill tidings from my travels. The roads in the wilder regions are no longer safe for a weary traveler or merchant. Over the last year I have traveled far and wide, sometimes by Skein and sometimes by caravan but everywhere I go I hear the rumblings of disturbing things. And so as I travel I leave these notes with the Skein Magus’ and on notice boards I come across, mayhap what I have heard will serve to keep you safe in your travels.

The roads near the larger settlements of the great nations of Maud’madir remain as dubiously safe as they ever were. But in the wild places the Greenskins are being whipped into a frenzy. I cannot say for certain that what I have gathered is not mere coincidence; certainly the authorities I have addressed have told me as much but the evidence convinces me that there is something sinister afoot. The Goblinoids raid and pillage every where with increasing cohesion and ferocity.

Near the southern border of Felnir the human settlement of Amberglen was raided, those who fled that I spoke with told me a tale of an Orcish tribe setting upon their towns valiant militia – only for the defenders to be dragged down into the ground by great horned monsters! This one admittedly makes little sense to me as the only horned creatures I know of underground are the Minotaur and they are not known raiders.

To the North of Duvain reports have trickled in from the new port of Ralinwood that the Greenskin horde in the Mountains have begun to stir once more. The last time these mountain clans united it required direct assistance from the Duvainian military to quell.

Across the northeastern border of Berphaunt the reports have been even more wild and disturbing. Everything from entire merchant caravans crippled with alchemy to whole cemeteries being looted and emptied! I even heard it said that a group of monstrous ogres were seen leading the dead from their rest!

Cousins, be careful that the trails you pick are wide and brightly lit, that your wagons are in good repair, your horses and oxen are healthy and strong so to run fast, and that your campsites are safely hidden and well guarded. I fear for us all who wander these wild roads, but I could not bear to hear of a Cousin falling to these dangers.

Again friends I have been blessed thus far that I have not seen any of these Greenskin assaults but why would so many people tell the tale if it were not true?

Originally posted here.

Leave a Reply

